Timely recognition


Screen shot of the cover of Time magazine’s latest issue naming Pope Francis Person of the Year.

VATICAN CITY — It’s not the first time a pope has been chosen by Time magazine as Person of the Year.

Two of his predecessors have been named — the soon-to-be-saints: Blessed John Paul II in 1994 and Blessed John XXIII in 1962.

Time‘s title isn’t meant to honor someone as a do-gooder (obvious in the case of Adolf Hitler being named in 1938), but it is meant to highlight the person it sees as that year’s biggest news-maker or who “has done the most to influence events.”

“Rarely has a new player on the world stage captured so much attention so quickly — young and old, faithful and cynical — as has Pope Francis.”

— Time magazine

time july 2013

Screen shot of Time’s July 29, 2013 international edition.

Given the enormous amount of attention Pope Francis has gotten since his March election, Father Lombardi, the Vatican spokesman, said Time picking the pope wasn’t at all surprising. [It’s the third time Pope Francis has made the cover of Time just this year.]

But the spokesman said it is a good sign that such recognition is going to someone who “proclaims to the world spiritual, religious and moral values and speaks effectively in favor of peace and greater justice.”

A Jewish group and Argentina’s government have also reportedly nominated Pope Francis for the Nobel Peace Prize. Submissions for this year’s prize were due in February, so it’s doubtful the pope will even make the list.*

*CORRECTION: The 2013 peace prize was already awarded this year (as an attentive reader pointed out) to the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons “for its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons.” 

Let’s see what next year may bring!

This entry was posted in CNS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Timely recognition

  1. Edgar says:

    This year’s Nobel Peace Prize was already awarded to the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons. Nominations for next year’s prize are due in February 2014, so the pope is still eligible to win next year.

  2. Carol Glatz says:

    Thank you Edgar for catching this!! I wonder if the pope will win?

Comments are closed.