Daily Archives: December 29, 2008

A sad but inspiring journey of a Catholic journalist, dead at 40

Death is nothing new to me. Both of my parents died young, I’ve experienced the loss of friends and other family members, and I held my mother’s hand as she passed into the afterlife. As a journalist, I’ve covered more funerals … Continue reading

Posted in clients, CNS | 4 Comments

Jim Harney never forgot about the world’s poor

Catholic peacemaker Jim Harney, who promoted justice for the world’s poor through photography, lectures and retreats throughout the U.S. and Canada, died Dec. 26 after a protracted bout with brain cancer. The 68-year-old former Catholic priest first gained notoriety as one of … Continue reading

Posted in CNS | 1 Comment

A reminder that Christmas is not yet over

Terry Mattingly, a religion expert who writes a weekly column for Scripps Howard News Service and is also a major contributor to the Get Religion blog (which is must-reading for anyone concerned about the coverage of religion in the mainstream … Continue reading

Posted in CNS | 3 Comments