Are pro football stadiums family-friendly?

I used to think that it was just the Washington Redskins (because I live near Washington) who had a problem with foul-mouthed and inebriated fans creating problems for families who want to attend games without being verbally assaulted. But then I spotted this item in The Catholic Spirit in St. Paul, Minn.

Editor Joe Towalski took his 10-year-old son to last weekend’s game between the Minnesota Vikings and Green Bay Packers. The headline on Towalski’s column says it all: “Vikings game was memorable for the wrong reasons.” An excerpt:

Here’s what my son said to me in the closing seconds of the third quarter: “I think maybe we should wait until I’m older to come to another game. I’ve never heard so much swearing in one building in my life.”

Earlier this month I read a piece by one of my favorite sports columnists that made several references to the problem here in Washington, but no longer will I think the problem is just because the Redskins have one of the biggest stadiums and most raucous fans in the league.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers