Capturing the madness and joy of the canonizations

By Emily Antenucci

VATICAN CITY — As a Villanova University student doing an internship at the Rome bureau of Catholic News Service, I had the opportunity to be in Rome for the canonizations of St. John Paul and St. John XXIII.

The anticipation was high for this event and, truth be told, I was a little bit nervous about how it would play out. I was told that Rome’s population for the weekend would skyrocket and I knew that public transportation or even just walking around the city would be a nightmare.

Regardless of the screaming crowds that I stood in and the distance I had to walk to catch a bus home, it was one of the most memorable moments of my life.

With a video camera in hand, I wandered around Rome and Vatican City Saturday and Sunday to capture the madness and the joy.

I interviewed people in the crowds and took video of my surroundings the night before the canonizations as well as the morning of the Mass. I pushed my way through the crowds; I stood in the square with the clergy; and I talked my way onto Bernini’s colonnade with the press.

Hundreds of thousands of people traveled from all over the world for this historic weekend and I was lucky enough to be in the thick of it all. This is what I found:

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 750 other followers

