Everything you need to ring out 2013, usher in 2014 with Pope Francis

Pope kneels in prayer as he celebrates Christmas Eve Mass in St. Peter's Basilica at Vatican

Pope Francis kneeling in prayer when he celebrated Christmas Eve Mass in St. Peter’s Basilica. (CNS photo/Paul Haring)

VATICAN CITY — As 2013 comes to a close, people can follow today’s traditional evening prayer service with Pope Francis in St. Peter’s Basilica.

The celebration of Vespers, which begins at 5 p.m. Rome time (11 a.m. EST),  will end with the adoration of the Blessed Sacrament and the singing of the “Te Deum” hymn of thanksgiving to God.

The liturgical booklet is here and the video feed (starting at 4:30 p.m. Rome time) here.

After the prayer service, the pope is scheduled to visit the Nativity scene in St. Peter’s Square.

Ring in the new year Jan. 1 by following the papal Mass celebrating the feast honoring Mary, Mother of God.

The liturgical booklet is here and the video feed (starting at 9:30 a.m. Rome time/3:30 a.m. EST) is here.

Pope Francis holds dove before his weekly audience at the Vatican

Pope Francis holding a dove before his weekly audience in St. Peter’s Square May 15. (CNS photo/Stefano Rellandini, Reuters)

Don’t forget that the church also celebrates the World Day of Peace Jan. 1. Pope Francis’ first peace day message, about the spirit of fraternity being the foundation of peace, is here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 739 other followers