Vacations with meaning

Although everyone can go for a little rest and relaxation, not every vacation needs to focus on this. Take for example the young adults featured recently in the Catholic Courier newspaper of the Diocese of Rochester, N.Y.

These folks use their vacation time to go on mission trips or to help those in need. The souvenir, of sorts, that they bring home is a deeper sense of what others are going through and increased knowledge about themselves.

One of these volunteers said she didn’t anticipate changing her combined volunteer/travel style. 

“I try not to make too many plans because God always has other things in mind,” she said. “I try to keep myself free enough to go where I think I’m being called.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 751 other followers